The Cultural Curator

Bringing you thoughts on feminism, fashion, food, current affairs, and other cultural goodies…

Wander Woman

As a general rule, I tend to pride myself on the amount of travel I’ve undertaken over the past 27 years (and when I say “past”, what I actually mean is the number of years I’ve graced the world with my presence).

I’ve stepped foot on every continent, save for Australia (I hear it’s quite similar to Canada, anyway…) and Antartica (isn’t Canada cold enough already?! I’m not a glutton for punishment, after all…), and I almost always have a suitcase packed. Ok, fine, two suitcases. 

So when friends send me links to travel websites and blogs, I get a little… miffed. Why? Because it only serves as validation as to how little of the world I’ve actually seen. When people say “it’s a small world…”, I just want to shake them.

It’s a small world? Really? Then how come I’ve spent what-seems-like a bazillion hours on airplanes, boats, buses, and trains and still only scratched the (earth’s) surface? Hvar, Crotia. Qu’est-ce que c’est? Vernazza, Italy. Come again? Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka. Nope, never heard of it.

There are places in this world that I didn’t even know I didn’t know.

So thank you to a dear friend who recently shared The New York Times’ “46 Places to Go in 2013” article.

I’m packing my bag as I type. No, wait. My bag is already packed!

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2013 by in Travel and tagged , , .

Twitter Updates

