The Cultural Curator

Bringing you thoughts on feminism, fashion, food, current affairs, and other cultural goodies…

Back to the Basics

If you know me, you know that I love fashion. Like really, really love it. And I love using my creativity and vision to put together smart and chic outfits from a closet full of individual pieces.

So when a friend recently connected me with an entrepreneur who is starting a website for up-and-coming stylists, I jumped at the opportunity to participate in this new venture.

All this ‘style talk’ got me thinking about what makes a wardrobe truly timeless and fabulous, and there are a number of ‘basic essentials’ that I believe set the foundation. Once you have these covetable (and functional) classics in your collection, you can incorporate all kinds of great accessories (think: scarves, hats, jewelry, and belts!) to spice things up and create a style that is uniquely YOUR OWN.

And if you’re a world traveler, all the better. I’ve picked up some of my most prized – and personalized! – accessories during my trips abroad. A funky purse in Morocco, a dazzling pair of earrings in Turkey, a colourful set of bangles in India, an envy-inducing necklace in Ghana… and the list goes on…

So, without further ado, I present you with my ’20 Basic Wardrobe Essentials’.

Happy dressing!

xo

J

20 Basic Wardrobe Essentials

3 comments on “Back to the Basics

  1. alphachick17
    July 31, 2013

    This is a great post! I am doing something similar in my blog. I am trying to find as many outfits as I can with my wardrobe essentials. I would love to get your input! Its called thestylefixer.com

  2. Pingback: on duty style: a shopping list for fall

  3. Pingback: Saldi&soldi. | Appenadieciminuti.

Leave a Reply

