The Cultural Curator

Bringing you thoughts on feminism, fashion, food, current affairs, and other cultural goodies…

Wired.

If you know me, you know that I’m wee bit of a music fiend. Hmmmm… nix the ‘wee bit’ part.

My father (love you, dad!) was at one time a music producer in his ‘glory’ days, which meant that, growing up, I was exposed to a vast roster of artists and genres, and my love of music has been, more or less, ingrained in me since childhood.

Though, today, Pops doesn’t produce, when he’s not busy running his company, you will consistently find him writing lyrics or stroking his fingers on a keyboard/piano, and so the legacy of music in our family lives on…

Interestingly, I’ve always tended more toward the crooning of male vocalists, but lately there have been a slew of female songstresses that have been rocking (literally) my eardrums.

HAIM, a sister trio, composed of Este Arielle, Danielle Sari, and Alana Mychal Haim, have had such an influence on me that I often find myself parting my long locks down the middle, throwing on my motorcycle jacket, and swiping my lips with Chanel ‘Coco Red’ (a particularly classic and flattering shade, if I do say so myself).

One should never underestimate the cultural (and style) influence of music.

So, without further ado, here are two versions (recorded and live) of a song that is on repeat right now, both on my iPod and in my head…

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

