The Cultural Curator

Bringing you thoughts on feminism, fashion, food, current affairs, and other cultural goodies…

Your Support is Requested, S’il Vous Plaît.

Hello, hello.

It’s not often that I solicit fundraising dollars from my network – and especially not on my blog – but I’m making an exception because this is a cause I feel strongly about – and that I hope you, my beloved readers, will see value in supporting too.

On April 7th, I’ll join the Covenant House Sleep Out Next Generation team, a group of young professionals in Toronto, to spend a night on the streets (with just a sleeping bag and a piece of cardboard) to experience homelessness first-hand in an effort to raise awareness about the challenges facing homeless youth and critical funds for Covenant House, Canada’s largest homeless youth agency.

When I think back to my youth… so, basically, yesterday… I recall having a pretty incredible posse of people who loved me, cared for me, and encouraged me to pursue my dreams. I had parents who were my biggest fans and who made sure I had a roof over my head, food on the table, and a safety net that would be there to catch me if – and when – I fell.

You might have been on the receiving end of similar privileges. And, sadly, that is exactly what they are. Privileges. Not every young person is so… lucky.

So, on that note, I’m reaching out for support because I think we can all agree that, even in wealthy cities like Toronto, homelessness continues to be a prevailing issue. For young people, especially, it can be a very tough and discouraging reality that makes growing up all the more difficult. The good news is that we can help be the change that affords them more promising futures and that only serves to benefit society in the most positive way.

Every participant has a fundraising goal of $2,000 in place. My intention is to not only meet this goal, but to surpass it. You can visit my personal fundraising page at https://covenanthousetoronto.akaraisin.com/pledge/Participant/Home.aspx?seid=11557&mid=9&pid=2585728, and click on the bright green ‘Donate Now’ button.

On behalf of myself, my fellow Sleepers, and the kids of Covenant House Toronto, we are extremely grateful for your donation.

xo

Jackie

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

